28671 members and growing – the largest networking group in the maritime industry!


Sunday, July 21, 2019

Maritime Logistics Professional

Posted by June 22, 2017

Barkerding Elected Port NOLA Chairman

Robert R. Barkerding, Jr. (Photo: Port of New Orleans)

Robert R. Barkerding, Jr. (Photo: Port of New Orleans)

The Port of New Orleans Board of Commissioners has elected Robert R. Barkerding, Jr. as its new chairman, succeedsingMichael W. Kearney, whose term as chairman expired this month.

Barkerding represents Jefferson Parish and joined the Board in February of 2013 when he was appointed by former Gov. Bobby Jindal.
Kearney will continue to serve as a commissioner. In addition, the Board elected Laney T. Chouest Vice Chairman and Arnold B. Baker Secretary-Treasurer.
Barkerding is President of Admiral Security Services Inc., a maritime-focused security firm with offices in New Orleans and Mobile, Ala., that works in conjunction with the U.S. government to provide armed guards to vessels and ports on the lower Mississippi River and in ports in Mississippi, Alabama and Florida. He has worked in the maritime industry for more than 50 years.
Barkerding serves in numerous professional and civic capacities including director of the New Orleans Board of Trade; president emeritus of the Propeller Club of New Orleans; member of the executive committee of the International Propeller Club and vice-chairman of the World Trade Center Transportation Committee. He is also a U.S. Navy veteran and former active duty and reserve member of the New Orleans Police Department. 
In April 2017, the World Trade Center of New Orleans announced Barkerding as the recipient of the 2017 C. Alvin Bertel Award for his contributions to the Louisiana port community.
The Board is made up of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominees submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups. The Board reflects the three-parish jurisdiction, with four members from Orleans Parish, two from Jefferson Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Other Board members include William T. Bergeron, Tara C. Hernandez and Darryl D. Berger.
AlabamaBobby JindalCommissioners