28670 members and growing – the largest networking group in the maritime industry!


Friday, July 19, 2019

Maritime Logistics Professional

Posted by March 10, 2016

USCG Names New NBSAC Members

U.S. Coast Guard announces National Boating Safety Advisory Council appointments
The U.S. Coast Guard announced on Thursday the appointments of the chairman and seven members to serve on the 21-member National Boating Safety Advisory Council (NBSAC).
Dr. L. Daniel Maxim will serve as chairman of the NBSAC. Maxim has been a member of the NBSAC since 2011 and is also a member of the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary. He is the former Assistant National Commodore, Recreational Boating Safety.
The seven other individuals appointed or reappointed to serve as NBSAC members include Richard Jepsen, California; Marion Irving deCruz, California; Pete Chisholm, Wisconsin; Bruce Rowe, Arizona; Ernie Marshburn, North Carolina; Jeff Johnson, Alaska; and Toby Velasquez, New Mexico.
NBSAC was established by Congress in 1971 to provide advice and recommendations on a broad range of issues related to boating safety to the secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security through the commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard and the assistant commandant for prevention policy. 
Each member holds office for a term of up to three years. One-third of the NBSAC membership expires each year.
"I look forward to the contributions of the new members and the continued hard work of those who were reappointed," said Capt. Verne Gifford, director of Prevention Policy and sponsor of the National Boating Safety Advisory Council. "The NBSAC plays an important role in the Coast Guard's Prevention Program and the National Recreational Boating Safety Program. Those who serve on the council are to be commended for their willingness to volunteer their time to make our nations' waters safer for recreational boaters."