28683 members and growing – the largest networking group in the maritime industry!


Sunday, August 25, 2019

Maritime Logistics Professional

Posted by December 17, 2015

Port of New Orleans Elects New Board Chairman

William T. Bergeron (Photo: Port of New Orleans)

William T. Bergeron (Photo: Port of New Orleans)

Port of New Orleans' Board of Commissioners Elects William T. Bergeron Chairman; Michael W. Kearney Elected Vice Chair, Robert Barkerding Jr. Elected Secretary Treasurer
The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans today elected William T. Bergeron chairman. Bergeron represents St. Bernard Parish and joined the Board in November of 2012 when he was appointed by Gov. Bobby Jindal. He succeeds Scott H. Cooper, whose term as chairman expired this month. Cooper will continue to serve as a commissioner. In addition, Michael W. Kearney was elected vice chairman and Robert R. Barkerding, Jr. as its secretary-treasurer.
Bergeron serves as Managing Director of Bergeron Resources, a diversified management, investment and consulting firm involved in oil and gas properties throughout Louisiana and Texas. Bergeron Resources also participates in real estate projects and maritime and transportation services in Louisiana and Mississippi.
The Board is made up of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominees submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups. The Board reflects the three-parish jurisdiction, with four members from Orleans Parish, two from Jefferson Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Other Board members include Greg Rusovich, Laney J. Chouest and Arnold B. Baker.
Board of CommissionersBoard of Commissioners of the Port of New OrleansBobby Jindal