28814 members and growing – the largest networking group in the maritime industry!


Wednesday, November 25, 2020

Maritime Logistics Professional

Posted by July 19, 2016

Foxx Names New Members to Maritime Industry Advisory Panel

U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx announced the appointment of 29 new members to the Marine Transportation System National Advisory Committee (MTSNAC).  Established in 2010, MTSNAC is comprised of leaders from commercial transportation firms, ship construction, repair and recycling, trade associations, state and local public entities, labor organizations, academics, and environmental groups that advise the Secretary and the Maritime Administration on policies to ensure that the U.S. Marine Transportation System is capable of responding to projected trade increases.
The Committee advises the Secretary on solutions to impediments hindering effective use of short sea transportation and other matters as the Secretary determines.  Committee members undertake information-gathering activities and develop technical advice before presenting recommendations.   MTSNAC policy recommendations have led to the expansion of the Marine Transportation System, the integration of Marine Highways into the surface transportation system and the improvement and streamlining of the Title XI ship financing process.
“The maritime industry is facing many challenges and is made up of different interests,” Maritime Administrator Paul “Chip” Jaenichen said.  “However, bringing those interests together on this Committee has played a vital role in helping us develop our National Maritime Transportation Strategy to ensure we remain viable and competitive in the 21st Century.  We are extremely grateful for their commitment to advancing our Marine Transportation System.”
MTSNAC is comprised of 40 members from commercial transportation firms, shipbuilding, repair and recycling companies, trade associations, state and local entities, labor organizations, academics and environmental groups.  Committee members serve 2-year terms, with no more than two consecutive term re¬appointments, and approximately one-third of members' terms of office expire every 2 years. 
The Department strives to select individuals with in-depth knowledge of their respective industries or government sectors.  Members are nominated through a full and open process published in the Federal Register.
The new members are:
1. Gary Adams, Vice President Global Logistics, Walmart Stores Inc.
2. Robert Berry, Vice President, International Shipbreaking Limited, LLC
3. Gary Brown, Vice President Port Sales, Genesee & Wyoming - Coastal Region
4. Molly Campbell, Director, Port Commerce Department, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
5. Gregory Faust, Director of Operations, Department of Transportation - Washington State Ferries Division
6. Peter Ford, Chief Strategy Officer, Ports America
7. John Graykowski, Principal, Maritime Industry Consultants
8. Bill Hanson, Vice President, Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Company, LLC
9. Daniel Harmon, Director, Maritime Division, Texas Department of Transportation
10. Susan Hayman, Vice President, Health, Safety, Quality & External Affairs, Foss Maritime Company
11. Jared Henry, Vice President – U.S. Government Trade, Hapag-Lloyd USA, LLC
12. Tim Hinkley, Senior Vice President - Global Logistics, Hasbro Inc.
13. Jim Kruse, Director, Center for Ports & Waterways, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
14. Gary LaGrange, President & Chief Executive Officer, Port of New Orleans
15. Griff Lynch, Chief Operating Officer/Incoming Executive Director, Georgia Ports Authority
16. Jim Pelliccio, President & CEO, Port Newark Container Terminal
17. William Pennella, Vice-Chairman and Executive Vice President, Crowley Maritime Corporation
18. Torey Presti, President, National Shipping Agencies, Inc.
19. Jonathan Rosenthal, Principal, Saybrook Corporate Opportunity Funds
20. Scott Sigman, Transportation & Export Infrastructure Lead, Illinois Soybean Association 
21. Anne Strauss-Weider, Director, Freight Planning, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
22. Capt. Richard Suttie, Executive Director, University Advanced Partnership Initiative, Center for Homeland Security and Defense, Naval Postgraduate School
23. John Townsend, Maritime Systems Specialist, Honeywell Technology Solutions, Inc.
24. Dr. Thomas Wakeman III, Research Professor, Stevens Institute of Technology
25. Robert Wellner, Executive Vice President, Liberty Global Logistics LLC
26. Thomas Wetherald, Director of Business Development and Strategic Planning, General Dynamics-NASSCO
27. Lisa Wieland, Port Director, Massachusetts Port Authority
28. Brian Wright, President & Chief Executive Officer, Owensboro Riverport Authority
Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members 
29. CAPT James Jenkins, USCG, Senior Maritime Safety and Security Advisor to the Secretary, Department of Transportation 
Wal-Mart Stores Inc.General DynamicsGreat Lakes Dredge & Dock Company LLC