28670 members and growing – the largest networking group in the maritime industry!


Friday, July 19, 2019

Maritime Logistics Professional

Posted by January 9, 2019

New Appointments to Baltic Exchange Council

The Baltic Exchange has announced three new appointments to the Baltic Exchange Council (BEC), the governing body which oversees the Baltic's strategy for membership services, social responsibility, charities and its relationship with its members, governments, regulatory bodies and the global shipping community.

Baltic Exchange members Guy Hindley (Howe Robinson), Denis Petropoulos (Braemar Shipping Services) and Andy James (China Navigation) have joined the Council.  Lambros Varnavides and John Hadjipateras have stepped down from the Council, although John Hadjipateras remains on the Baltic Membership Council.

Members of Baltic nominate from among themselves eight representatives on the BEC who are vetted by the incumbent BEC and approved by Baltic Member Representatives.

The Chairman of the Baltic Index Council, the Chief Executive of the Baltic Exchange and two directors of the Baltic Board are also members of the BEC. The BEC elects its Chairman and Vice Chairman from among its Member Representatives.

The Chairman of the BEC is invited to attend meetings of the Baltic Board where required.

Baltic Exchange Council 2019:

  • Duncan Dunn- Chairman
  • Stefan Albertijn- ex Officio
  • Mark Jackson- CEO, Baltic Exchange
  • Colm Nolan
  • Chris Reilly
  • Haralambos J Fafalios
  • Catherine Bacon
  • Michael Syn
  • Flemming Jacobs
  • Guy Hindley
  • Denis Petropoulos
  • Andy James
BalticBaltic ExchangeBraemar Shipping Services